Flags Galore

You see a lot of flags on La Palma. Most English visitors will recognise the flags of Spain and the European Union.

But the Canary Islands are an autonomous region within Spain, and they have their own flag too. You see it a lot, especially around May 30th, which is Canary Day.

And then each island has its own flag. Here’s the flag of La Palma:

And as if that weren’t enough, La Palma has 14 municipalities, of which twelve have their own flag.

Santa Cruz Breña Baja Los Llanos
El Paso Barlovento Breña Alta
Garafía Mazo Tijarafe
Puntagorda Puntallana Tazacorte

(The other two municipalities are San Andres y Sauces and Fuencaliente)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.